News & Events

Travel trade associations support flood victims

On: 02 Sep 2008 By: Himalaya Journey

Different travel trade associations in the country have extended their support to the people displaced after flood in Saptakoshi River in Eastern Nepal. Trekking Agencies' Association Nepal launched a donation campaign with the slogan of 'Share Grief'. The staffers, executive committee members, past presidents and general members of TAAN took part in the donation campaign that started from Tridevi Marg, Thamel. TAAN has handed over Rs 333,333 to the Prime Minister's Relief Fund.

Similarly, Nepal Mountaineering Association donated Rs 3 lakhs to the Fund to support the displaced people. Himalayan Rescue Association also provided Rs 50,000 to the flood victims through the relief fund. Likewise, Tourist Guide Association of Nepal (TURGAN) handed Rs 10,000 for the fund.
Meanwhile, Hotel Association of Nepal (HAN) handed over Rs. 1 million to Prime Minister Pushpa Kumar Dahal to support the flood victims. HAN president Prakash Shrestha handed over the support amount to Prime Minister Dahal during its annual general meeting organised on August 31.

The staffers of Nepal Tourism Board (NTB) have also donated a sum of Rs. 33,250 to the flood victims. According to a press statement issued by NTB, the donated amount will be deposited in Prime Minister's Natural Disaster Relief Fund. Thousands of people have been displaced after the Saptakoshi River destroyed the embankment and swept away the villages of Sripur, Haripur and Paschim Kushaha in Sunsari district.

Other News Headlines

Enjoy your endless experience in the Himalayas with our customized services and adventure package tours in Nepal, Tibet, Bhutan India & Pakistan in an individual or group join basis with your family, friends, relatives or your fellow travelers/trekkers/mountaineers!
Himalaya Journey Treks & Expedition
P.O.Box No: 21235,Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Tel: +977 1 4383184, Fax: +977 1 4415679
Cell: +977 98510 07829

We are affiliated with Nepal Tourism Board, Government of Nepal, Tourism Ministry, TAAN, NMA, KEEP, HRA and STN.

Our Team | Link Exchange | Photo Gallery | Terms & Conditions | Online Booking | Payment Mehtod | Sitemap